Rant: Laptops at meetings

I don’t know if this is a trend, or if this now happens at most companies.  I do know that it’s annoying as h-e-double-hockey-sticks.  (We run a clean blog here at The BBB.)

I’m not sure I’ve even experienced it anyplace else, so maybe it’s exclusive to my agency.

Basically, people show up to a meeting and bring their laptop.  So while you sit there listening to somebody drone on, reading from the agenda or brief that’s sitting right there in front of you, while these laptop people get to answer e-mail or get work done or blog or just surf the Web.

To be fair, some of them are account executives who are taking notes on the meeting.  That is probably the only acceptable use.

For the others–it’s not fair, it’s not cool, and it’s not right.  Especially since I don’t know if I have “permission” to bring my work laptop with me.

2 Comments

  1. Let me guess… These people bringing their laptops to meetings and doing things other than work, are the same ones that will narc on you for surfing the web at your desk?

    Reply

  2. Well, luckily I work in advertising, where Web surfing and the occasional goofin’-off break is generally tolerated–all in the name of “searching for creative inspiration.” Because you never know how The Onion will help you with an idea for an e-mail blast to accountants. 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

