Maybe the old adage is true

I don’t recall the exact wording, and I’m currently too lazy to Dogpile it up, but it’s something like “When the sh*t hits the fan, you find out who your real friends are.”

Now that I’m “involuntarily between jobs,” I’m working my contacts like crazy in search of freelance and/or full-time gigs.  And I’ve noticed two major themes:

–LOTS of agency people are inconsiderate rude jerks.  The kind that won’t even respond to a job inquiry with a quick e-mail or phone call.  Common courtesy, people.  Some day, it could be YOU sitting at home with a Scrubs rerun on in the background while you click “Check Mail” every two minutes.

–SOME people are awesome.  People I barely know (or know only through other people) who send a kind word and a “I’ll keep you in mind” or “I’ll pass on your stuff.”  That’s the kind of person I strive to be, and I’m grateful that others exist.

In a time when the word “friend” has taken on yet another meaning (thanks, Facebook and MySpace), I’m glad to have them in almost any form.

2 Comments

  1. Situations like yours make me feel like a bad friend. I wish I were back in Texas with oodles of leads for you… or had any clients who needed some copywriting…

    I just feel so helpless right now -and it seems unfair that I have a job and you don’t. 😦

    I think it sucks how the last gig you had treated you – and though there may be a wait – I have a feeling your next gig will be well worth it.

    Reply

  2. C’mon, now, you’ve been a good friend ever since my first day at TB. What was it you said in front of all those people gathered to welcome me…”Oh great, another good-looking one” or something ridiculously flattering like that?

    While I know that my situation is unfair, I don’t resent you or anybody else who has a job. (OK, maybe some senior exec types, but not you.)

    I’ve got some good people working on the situation for me, and I’m doing everything I can to work my network, make it bigger, and get some stuff going.

    You, now and always, rock. So cut it out.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

